The question has finally been answered. Lebron James is now a member of the Miami Heat. Over the next few days we will hear all about his decision to "take his talents to South Beach" and we will hear how difficult a decision it really was. The Bulls, Cavs, Knicks, and Nets will all release a statement saying they did all they could to get one LBJ. Excuses will float around and fingers will be pointed. At he end of the day I appalud James. He took less money and less years. Why? Because he wants to win and win right now. Some will argue that Chicago was the best place for that. And although I really can't argue that point, you can't blame him for taking advantage of a great situation the Heat offered him. How many times do bona fide superstars get to play on the same team together? How many times to do athletes get to spend the prime of there careers together? Before salary caps became the norm in the NFL and NBA you had dynastys. The 80's Celtics, the 80's 49ers, and the 90's Cowboys are the last true teams to pull that off. Today could have been the birth of the first true dynasty under the current cap rules.
People will hate LeBron. They will say he took the easy road. He broke hearts in Cleveland and will now challenge Art Model as the most hated man in Ohio. With a few words he became the new villian of the NBA, maybe all of sports. But let me ask you this: if you worked for a company, made millions of dollars, won personal awards, but your company never got recoginzed as the best, would you stay? Or would you leave to join other members of your talent level to create something magical? He choose the latter and I can't blame him. Nothing is a guarantee of course and there is still a certain player in LA who will have his say about next year's title. But the thought of watching these three is intriguing. Who is going to miss a Heat's game on TV? I know I won't.
One last thing, Cleveland fans, don't act like you been acting. Burning the man's jersey, cursing him on national TV, and degrading the man in public does not make you better people. Leave the juvenile stuff to Philly fan. He gave you seven great years. He is now and will always be from Ohio. Boo him loudly when he comes back but the rest is just garbage.
Jesus
Thursday, July 8, 2010
Wednesday, July 7, 2010
The Wait Is Over!!
Alright, so it has been quite a while since our last podcast. I am sure everyone has been on the edge of their seat wondering when the next one would be here. So, have at it...and enjoy the new pictures.
Sunday, May 2, 2010
Glad April Is Over
In this episode, we discuss the early season struggles of the Braves and Red Sox, surprises heading into May of the baseball season, the infamous Papi Zone, the NBA playoffs and a little NFL.
Monday, April 26, 2010
Welcome
First of all, welcome to the 7th Inning Stretch. You may be wondering where that name came from. It was suggested by Lee, the biggest mouth we know, so thanks. This is intended to be a break from the typical blog/podcast, so stand up and stretch it out. There will be no singing, I promise.
I am sure the second question you will have is, why are we doing an AL and NL Preview now? Isn't it the end of April? Good point. Actually, these were recorded in the middle of March. The original plan was to get them onto iTunes and get in the top 10 most downloaded podcasts. Or at least have 10 downloads. Well, it turned out to be a little more difficult than we thought. And we are apparently not quite as tech savvy as we thought either. So, here we are. A blog/podcast mix.
What will you read/see here? Mostly whatever we feel like talking about at the moment, not necessarily just baseball. Ideas will mainly come from emails that are exchanged between friends. So, who knows. We will go from breaking down the Red Sox and Braves slow start to how long it is acceptable to rely on past championships in arguments.
Again, thanks for coming. All 5 of you.
I am sure the second question you will have is, why are we doing an AL and NL Preview now? Isn't it the end of April? Good point. Actually, these were recorded in the middle of March. The original plan was to get them onto iTunes and get in the top 10 most downloaded podcasts. Or at least have 10 downloads. Well, it turned out to be a little more difficult than we thought. And we are apparently not quite as tech savvy as we thought either. So, here we are. A blog/podcast mix.
What will you read/see here? Mostly whatever we feel like talking about at the moment, not necessarily just baseball. Ideas will mainly come from emails that are exchanged between friends. So, who knows. We will go from breaking down the Red Sox and Braves slow start to how long it is acceptable to rely on past championships in arguments.
Again, thanks for coming. All 5 of you.
Saturday, April 24, 2010
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)